The 10th International Workshop on Java Technologies for Real-time and Embedded Systems - JTRES 2012

Technical University of Denmark
DTU Informatics

24-26 October 2012
Copenhagen, Denmark

::Call for Papers::

[ Plain Text ]


Over 90 percent of all microprocessors are now used for real-time and embedded applications, and the behavior of many of these applications is constrained by the physical world. Higher-level programming languages and middleware are needed to robustly and productively design, implement, compose, integrate, validate, and enforce real-time constraints along with conventional functional requirements and reusable components. It is essential that the production of real-time embedded systems can take advantage of languages, tools, and methods that enable higher software productivity. The Java programming language has become an attractive choice because of its safety, productivity, its relatively low maintenance costs, and the availability of well trained developers.

Although it features good software engineering characteristics, standard Java is unsuitable for developing real-time embedded systems, mainly due to under-specification of thread scheduling and the presence of garbage collection. These problems are addressed by the Real-Time Specification for Java (RTSJ). The intent of this specification is the development of real-time applications by providing several additions such as extending the Java memory model and providing stronger semantics in thread scheduling.


Interest in real-time Java in both the research community and industry has recently increased significantly, because of its challenges and its potential impact on the development of embedded and real-time applications. The goal of the proposed workshop is to gather researchers working on real-time and embedded Java to identify the challenging problems that still need to be solved in order to assure the success of real-time Java as a technology, and to report results and experiences gained by researchers.
::Submission Requirements::

Participants are expected to submit a paper of at most 10 pages (ACM Conference Format, i.e., two-columns, 10 point font). Accepted papers will be published in the ACM International Conference Proceedings Series via the ACM Digital Library and have to be presented by one author at the JTRES.

LaTeX and Word templates can be found at:

The ISBN number for JTRES 2012 is 978-1-4503-1688-0.

Papers describing open source projects shall include a description how to obtain the source and how to run the experiments in the appendix. The source version for the published paper will be hosted at the JTRES web site.
Papers should be submitted through Easychair. Please use the submission link:
Accepted papers will be invited for submission to a special issue of the Journal on Concurrency and Computation: Practice and Experience (CfP).

Topics of interest to this workshop include, but are not limited to:
  • New real-time programming paradigms and language features
  • Industrial experience and practitioner reports
  • Open source solutions for real-time Java
  • Real-time design patterns and programming idioms
  • High-integrity and safety critical system support
  • Java-based real-time operating systems and processors
  • Extensions to the RTSJ
  • Virtual machines and execution environments
  • Memory management and real-time garbage collection
  • Compiler analysis and implementation techniques
  • Scheduling frameworks, feasibility analysis, and timing analysis
  • Reproduction studies
  • Multiprocessor and distributed real-time Java

::Important Dates::

  • Paper Submission: 8 July, 2012 (extended deadline)
  • Notification of Acceptance: 13 August, 2012
  • Camera Ready Paper Due: 5 September, 2012
  • Workshop: 24-26 October, 2012

::Program Chair::

  • Andy Wellings, University of York

::Workshop Chair::

  • Martin Schoeberl, Technical University of Denmark

::Program Committee Members::

  • Pablo Basanta-Val, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Theresa Higuera, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • James Hunt, Aicas
  • Doug Jensen, MITRE
  • Tomas Kalibera, University of Kent
  • Doug Locke, LC Systems Services
  • Kelvin Nilsen, Atego
  • Damien Masson, Laboratoire d'informatique Gaspard-Monge
  • Ales Plsek, Oracle
  • Marek Prochazka, European Space Agency
  • Wolfgang Puffitsch, ONERA
  • Anders Ravn, Aalborg University
  • Martin Schoeberl, Technical University of Denmark
  • Fridtjof Siebert, Aicas
  • Tullio Vardanega, University of Padua
  • Jan Vitek, Purdue University
  • Andy Wellings, University of York